GCB’s friend or foe?

I’m going to do something I have never done before, and weigh in on something I’ve never seen or tried.

ABC network has a show coming out called GCB. Personally, I think they sold out by changing the name, from its original Good Christian Bitches, but hey… that’s me. I figure if you are going to go for it, then GO FOR IT!

Anyhow, I’ve heard a lot of comments from the Christian community that this show makes fun of Christians. That it Mocks them. I disagree.

GCB’s doesn’t mock Christians, or Christianity. It mocks hypocrites.

I have been looking forward to watching GCB ever since I read about it back during the summer. I see it as a Desperate Housewife type of show… while yes, some of the things, and issues on the show may happen in real life, chances are, they aren’t all going to happen to the same folks, in the same area, at the same time… just funny, entertaining stuff.

If you have spent any time around southern, conservative Christians, then you will recognize the peeps the show is portraying. Every town has them. Whether they are Christian, or not, every town has them, just in GCB’s they happen to be Christian.

Am I offended by it?

Not a bit.

I see it as a caricature of those GCB’s I deal with in every day life. And I’m sure, if pressed, some folks who know me would call me a GCB as well.

Now, people, take it for what it is, its a TV show, its meant as comedy, see it as that, and leave it alone. If you sit and watch, I’m sure you will see bits of folks you know and probably even a few bits of yourself if you watch close enough. Instead of slamming the network, writers and actors on the show, take it, and apply it to your own life and see how those around you view you in things you say and do.

Ouch

That hurt huh.

13 thoughts on “GCB’s friend or foe?

  1. Niki Turner March 7, 2012 at 12:02 am

    I watched it, and as a former pastor’s wife, I laughed out loud several times.
    Does it make fun of Christianity? I didn’t think so, but it does poke fun, as you said, at the hypocrites. Doesn’t matter if you’re in the south or not, one thing the church is good at reproducing is hypocrites.

  2. jayedee dewitt March 7, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    good for you! you expressed, very eloquently, what i’ve been thinking!

  3. ppreacherswife March 7, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    Niki, I haven’t got a chance to watch yet, but I plan on it either tonight or tomorrow!

    Jayedee, I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who sees it like that! :)

  4. Andi Tubbs March 8, 2012 at 12:21 am

    My problem with the show is one the name, if ABC was going to be bold enough to air the show then why not go ahead and use the full name. Secondly, there is already an issue with hypocrites in the church why make it front and center, and make a joke of it! Christ sure didn’t if my memory is correct He had an issue with it. I’ve lived all over the U.S. as well as overseas and I’ve seen churches divide over this kind of stuff. Hypocrisy is definitely not something to poke fun at or be proud of. I want my walk with Christ to be something that people see and want not something phoney! Just my .02

  5. ppreacherswife March 8, 2012 at 1:27 am

    Andi, I totally agree on the name thing, if you are gonna do something, then do it full force, don’t be messing around! I think what gets me more, is the reaction from the Christian community, I got all sorts of “call’s to action” type emails, requesting I boycott advertisers, write letters and that sort of thing. I think instead of doing that, if the Christian community as a whole would look at our own lives and see what others see, and make changes accordingly, then the “world” as we refer to it, wouldn’t have any ammo to use against us!

  6. Andi Tubbs March 8, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    Angela, I went and looked up the book on Amazon and the book didn’t get favorable reviews. I can understand having a “show” to let your hair down. However, when the show makes Christians look bad I say avoid it at all costs. We already look bad in the media . . ie those who hold up those signs against Prop 8 in Cali. For myself I want to stay as far away as the stereotypical Christian.
    I have to agree with you about looking at our own lives and making changes. We definitely need to look inward instead of outward.

  7. ppreacherswife March 9, 2012 at 12:36 am

    I finally got to watch GCB tonight and loved it! To me it didn’t cast such a bad light on Christians as it did the upper echelon of society in the South. Being both a southern girl and a Christian, I was laughing while watching because I could identify with so much of it! Ultimately, the GCB’s come off looking bad, while the others are showing real Christianity!

  8. Zelda March 10, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    I haven’t watched the show and I’m unlikely to because it the premise couldn’t interest me less. But I guess I have an issue with anyone in the entertainment industry lecturing anyone, Christian or otherwise, on hypocrisy. Their double standards in news broadcasting are so vast, I don’t feel like listening to their sanctimony on any subject. Although if they did a show entitled Good Liberal Bitches, I might take a peek.

  9. ppreacherswife March 11, 2012 at 3:43 am

    Z, you should watch the pilot… I cracked up completely!

  10. Zelda March 11, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    Honestly, I’ll pass. I’m tired of the entertainment industry version of everything from religion, to rednecks, to hypocrisy, love, sports, and politics. Everyone’s a hypocrite and everyone likes sex. Even Christians. We got rid of cable and I could not be happier. The only thing I miss watching is Justified, but I watch it online and buy the season when it comes out on dvd. Then again, I’m pregnant and that makes me grumpy with just about anything that doesn’t wear a cowboy hat or shoot 3 pointers.

  11. ppreacherswife March 11, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    ROFL you crack me up! There are lots of cowboy hats in GCB ;) LIN-mania maybe?

  12. Zelda March 12, 2012 at 12:23 am

    It’s Linsanity. LINSANITY!!!!

Tell me what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 880 other followers