Sonoma Rose

Sonoma Rose by Jennifer Chiaverini was the first of her books I have read. I immediately fell in love with Rosa and her children, wanting them to reach true happiness. I was transported back into times of prohibition and everytime I put the book down I found myself shocked I was in the 2000′s instead of back in 1912! It was immersion to the fullest extent! I will definitely be reading more of Jennifer Chiaverini’s books. And best of all, I get to give one of you a chance to read this book for yourself! More on that later!

“Chiaverini has an impressive ability to bring a time and place alive, showcasing the effects of Prohibition on farmers in Sonoma Valley. ” — Romantic Times

As the nation grapples with the strictures of Prohibition, Rosa Diaz Barclay lives on a Southern California rye farm with her volatile husband, John, who has lately found another source of income far outside the Federal purview.

Mother to eight children, Rosa mourns the loss of four who succumbed to the mysterious wasting disease currently afflicting young Ana and Miguel. Two daughters born of another father are in perfect health. When an act of violence shatters Rosa’s resolve to maintain her increasingly dangerous existence, she flees with the children and her precious heirloom quilts to the mesa where she last saw her beloved mother alive.

Jennifer Chiaverini is the author of the New York Times bestselling Elm Creek Quilts series, as well as five collections of quilt patterns inspired by her novels. She has taught writing at Penn State and Edgewood College and designs the Elm Creek Quilts fabric lines from Red Rooster Fabrics. A graduate of the University of Notre Dame and the University of Chicago, she lives with her husband and two sons in Madison, Wisconsin.

Thanks to TLC Tours, I received this book in return for my honest review.

Now for the good stuff!

I have been given the opportunity to give away a copy of Sonoma Rose to one of my readers! I’m going to make this simple, just comment on this post, and let me know if you have ever read any of Jennifer Chiaverini’s books, which is your favorite?

See that’s easy!

The giveaway will end one week from today, that makes it 02/29/2012 at 12 noon est! I will email the winner and let them know, they will then have 48 hours to respond with their mailing info so I can have the book mailed to them! If I get no response, I will pick another winner!

4 thoughts on “Sonoma Rose

  1. [...] Historical FictionMonday, February 20th:  Angler’s RestWednesday, February 22nd:  All Grown Up?Thursday, February 23rd:  Brimful CuriositiesFriday, February 24th:  Amused by BooksMonday, [...]

  2. Heather J. @ TLC February 26, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    I’m glad to see you’re a new fan of the series! Thanks for being on the tour.

  3. [...] Wednesday, February 22nd:  All Grown Up? [...]

  4. Kd March 3, 2012 at 11:46 am

    What a great book! I love to read Jennifer Chiaverini’s books and would love to win one on this blog tour. Thanks for a great giveaway! Kd

Tell me what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 880 other followers